Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 21/10/22

Album of the Week – 21/10/22

For a week late in October, there’s a lot of good music being released! We have new albums from Arctic Monkeys (The Car) and even Taylor Swift  (Midnights). On the indie scene, there are albums from Archers of Loaf (Reason in Decline), Frankie Cosmos (Inner World Peace) and some remixes of Circuit des Yeux + Claire Rousay (Sunset Poem EP). Also, do give Robyn Hitchcock a listen with SHUFFLEMANIA!

In the end, we went for a band from South London, releasing their second album…

Album of the Week — Dry Cleaning – Stumpwork

Just fourteen months after releasing their debut, Dry Cleaning announces details of a second album Stumpworkand today, offering a first taste of the new work in the form of the single ‘Don’t Press Me’. Clocking in at under 2 minutes, ‘Don’t Press Me’ is about the pleasure of gaming and the enjoyment of intense and short-lived guilt-free experiences. Vocalist Florence Shaw also says, “The words in the chorus came about because I was trying to write a song to sing to my own brain, “You are always fighting me / You are always stressing me out”.”Its official animated video was created by Peter Millard whose naïve depictions of the band are perfectly in sync with the song’s hooks and riffs. .

Stumpwork, the follow-up to 2021’s New Long Leg will be released on 21 October 2022. The South London-based group’s first studio album, recorded in just two weeks with producer john Parish at the iconic Rockfield Studios, became a huge critical and commercial success reaching #4 in the UK Album Charts and featuring in best-of-2021 polls across the board. Buoyed by its success, Nick Buxton (drums), Tom Dowse (guitar), Lewis Maynard (bass) and Florence Shaw (vocals) returned to rural Wales in late 2021, partnering once more with Parish and engineer Joe Jones. Working from a position of trust in the same studio and with the same team, imposter syndrome and anxiety was replaced by a fresh freedom and openness to explore beyond an already rangy sonic palette,a newfound confidence in their creative vision. A longer period in the studio afforded the time to experiment, improvise, play, sharpen their table tennis skill.

Albums of Note:

— A Place to Bury Strangers – Exploding Head (13th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

— a-ha – True North

— Archers of Loaf – Reason in Decline

— Arctic Monkeys – The Car

— Circuit des Yeux + Claire Rousay – Sunset Poem EP

— Frankie Cosmos – Inner World Peace

— Robyn Hitchcock – SHUFFLEMANIA!

Albums Released – October 21st:

— A Place to Bury Strangers – Exploding Head (13th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

— a-ha – True North

— Abby Sage – The Florist EP

— Adam Melchor – Here Goes Nothing

— Ali Gate – Who Hurt You? (Deluxe Edition)

— Alice Boman – The Space Between

— Andrea Bocelli, Matteo Bocelli, and Virginia Bocelli – A Family Christmas

— Arches of Loaf – Reason in Decline

— Architects – the classic symptoms of a broken spirit

— Arctic Monkeys – The Car

— Armani Caesar – The Liz 2

— Atta Boy – Crab Park

— Basement – Colourmeinkindness (Deluxe Edition)

— Bibio – BIB10

— Brutus – Unison Life

— Carly Rae Jepsen – The Loneliest Time


— Christina Aguilera – Stripped (Deluxe Digital Edition)

— Circles Around the Sun – Interludes For the Dead: Expanded Edition

— Clarice Johnson – Esthesis

— Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn – Pigments

— Dry Cleaning – Stumpwork

— Exhumed – To The Dead

— Fiona Brice – And You Know I Care

— Frankie Cosmos – Inner World Peace

— Fredo Bang – UNLV

— Hagop Tchaparian – Bolts

— Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard – Pioneering Women of Bluegrass: The Definitive Edition

— Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard – Sing For Me? (Reissue)

— Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard – Who’s That Knocking? (Reissue)

— iLE – Nacarile

— In This Moment – Blood 1983 EP

— Jade Imagine – Cold Memory

— Jawbox – Live At Metro Chicago 2019

— Jean-Michel Jarre – Oxymore

— Jeezy – Snofall

— Jobber – Hell in a Cell EP

— Jon Brion – Meaningless (Reissue)

— Kylie Minogue – Impossible Princess (Vinyl Reissue)

— Labrinth – Ends & Begins

— Less Than Jake – Silver Linings (Deluxe Edition)

— The Libertines – Up the Bracket (20th Anniversary Edition)

— Loshh – akọle EP

— Lowertown – I Love To Lie

— Madonna – Erotica (Vinyl Reissue)

— Meghan Trainor – Takin’ It Back

— Militarie Gun – All Roads Lead to the Gun (Deluxe)

— My Morning Jacket – MMJ LIVE VOL. 2: CHICAGO 2021

— Nick Hakim – Cometa

— Norah Jones – I Dream Of Christmas (Deluxe)

— The Otolith – Folium Liminia

— Pearla – Oh Glistening Onion, The Nighttime Is Coming

— Pinkshift – Love Me Forever

— Pip Millett – When Everything Is Better, I’ll Let You Know

— Poppy Ackroyd – Pause Reworked EP

— Queens of the Stone Age – Queens of the Stone Age (Vinyl Reissue)

— Robyn Hitchcock – SHUFFLEMANIA!

— Rubblebucket – Earth Worship

— Serj Tankian – Perplex Cities EP

— Seven Lions – Beyond The Veil

— Simple Minds – Direction of the Heart

— Siouxsie and the Banshees – All Souls

— Sloan – Steady

— The Soft Pink Truth – Is It Going To Get Any Deeper Than This?

— Taylor Swift – Midnights

— Tegan and Sara – Crybaby

— Terry Roche – Kin Ya See That Sun

— Titus – Damned If I Do EP

— Twain – Noon


— Various Artists – Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album

— Viterous Humor – Viterous Humor EP (Reissue)

— Whitmer Thomas – The Older I Get The Funnier I Was

— Wiki and Subjxct5 – Cold Cuts

— Witch Fever – Congregation

— Young The Giant – American Bollywood

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.