Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 12/08/22

Album of the Week – 12/08/22

If you’re a vinyl fan, then you simply must check out the Beastie Boys and their new release (Check Your Head (4xLP Box Set)).To continue the 90s theme, we’d recommend you spoil yourself with Slanted & Enchanted from Pavement, with another Vinyl Reissue.

‘Stop with the old music’ I hear you scream! Well… there are also new sounds from Danger Mouse x Black Thought (Cheat Codes) that really deserves a listen, along with the Simpsons composer Danny Elfman (Bigger. Messier) with something quite different than you’d expect! There are also releases from Collective Soul (Vibrating), Hudson Mohawke (Cry Sugar) and even the Pale Waves (Unwanted).

But none of those claimed the top prize… yes, it sounds a lot like the Beach Boys, but that’s not a bad thing! Check out the combination of Panda Bear and Sonic Boom below. Yes, it’s another lockdown album! You see, some good did come of it…

Album of the Week — Panda Bear and Sonic Boom – Reset

“Although Panda Bear and Sonic Boom are no strangers to each other’s music, Reset marks their first collaborative release. When SB pitched an idea to take their working relationship to the next level, he reckoned PB might reject the proposition outright—in the nine gloriously, feverishly hook-bound tracks of Reset, though, you can hear exactly how much he loved the prospect.

SB’s notion was simple enough: After lugging his records to Portugal years ago, his fascination was renewed by old favorites and standards he had not heard in years. Something struck him, the way the ornate intros by Eddie Cochran or the Everly Brothers felt largely like stage curtains, compelling in their own right even if they had very little to do with the hits that followed. SB began crafting loops from these preambles, twisting and bending the parts like scrap metal before sending them onto PB.

The kernel of Reset emerged not long after international lockdowns began. If making it supplied temporary medicine for the duo, it is now permanently so for the rest of us, a reminder that sometimes playing and singing along to old favorites with friends can be enough to make the world feel a bit better.”

Albums of Note:

— Beastie Boys – Check Your Head (4xLP Box Set)

— Danger Mouse x Black Thought – Cheat Codes

— Danny Elfman – Bigger. Messier.

—Collective Soul – Vibrating

— Hudson Mohawke – Cry Sugar

— Pavement – Slanted & Enchanted (Vinyl Reissue)

— Pale Waves – Unwanted

August 12th:

— Ali Gatie – Who Hurt You?

— Alicia Keys – KEYS II

— Amythyst Kiah – Pensive Pop EP

— Beastie Boys – Check Your Head (4xLP Box Set)

— Brittany Collins – Things I Tell My Therapist

— Boris – Heavy Rocks

— Cassie Marin – Lil 5i5

— Claude – a lot’s gotta change

— Coil – Constant Shallowness Leads to Evil (Vinyl Reissue)

—Collective Soul – Vibrating

— Danger Mouse x Black Thought – Cheat Codes

— Danny Elfman – Bigger. Messier.

— easy life – MAYBE IN ANOTHER LIFE…

— Erasure – Day-Glo (Based on a True Story)

— Faye – You’re Better

— Goo Goo Dolls – Chaos In Bloom

— Greg Loiacono (of The Mother Hips) – Giving It All Away

— Guards – More Cover Songs

— Hollywood Undead – Hotel Kalifornia

— Hudson Mohawke – Cry Sugar

— Kamikaze Palm Tree – Mint Chip

— Kasabian – The Alchemist’s Euphoria

— Kelsey Waldon – No Regular Dog

— Kiwi Jr. – Chopper

— Lauren Balthrop – Things Will Be Different

— Lil Zay Osama – Trench Baby 3

— Maddie Zahm – You Might Not Like Her EP

— Max Tundra – Remixtape

— NIKI – Nicole

— Norma Jean – Deathrattle Sing For Me

— Osees – A Foul Form

— Pale Waves – Unwanted

— Palm Tree – MINT CHIP

— Panda Bear and Sonic Boom – Reset

— Pavement – Slanted & Enchanted (Vinyl Reissue)

— Raffaella – LIVE, RAFF, LOVE (Act I) EP

— Rich Ruth – I Survived, It’s Over

— RÜFÜS DU SOL – Surrender Remixes

— SHIIVA – Cyclone EP

— Sylvan Esso – No Rules Sandy

— Tony Molina – In The Fade

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.