Album Reviews

Tune-Yards – I can feel you creep into my private life – Album Review

Tune-Yards – I can feel you creep into my private life – Album Review

Released Jan 19th

I was first introduced to Tune-Yards in unusual circumstances. Merrill Garbus was playing solo as a support act in Whelans. She took to the stage without ceremony and was largely ignored by the assembled crowd who continued their conversations. Within seconds of her starting to sing, she had the audience’s attention. It was a performance that made you sit up and take notice and it was clear that she was someone with huge potential. Since that time she has returned, along with her band, to perform as the main act in same venue and later in Vicar street. Her star continues to rise!

This is the fourth Tune-Yards release and band leader Merrill Garbus continues to explore a wide variety of sounds. Gone are the hints of African beats and now there is a purely electronic/ sample based sound that pulls from all corners. The album is said to tackle “race, politics, intersectional feminism and environmental prophecies head on” and is described on the press release as their magnum opus. It’s not like PR people to heap pressure on a release, now is it?

The album opens with ‘Heart Attack’ which is straight into the madness, with a mass of keyboards and drum machines. There is a strong 80s vide, but it works well for a pop workout. Who Are You is a scramble of saxophone and keyboards with piercing vocals layered. It is relatively straight forward but impressive none the less. Private Life opens with a pounding beat and layered breaths before a shouted vocal takes control.  It’s a song that could work very well live and will be something to look forward to. It’s no surprise that this is the title track with a whispered line “I can feel you creep into my private life “.

The album grows after a relatively straight forward introduction. Songs like ‘Home’ and ‘Hammer’ are definite highlights. It feels like a natural progression from 2014’s Nikki Nack rather than any massive jump in sound or style. It’s sample based playground pop and highly enjoyable for what it is. Another album to take pleasure in but this band is best heard live, where you can see the songs constructed before your eyes. We wait to hear of a Dublin gig. With dates announced all around Europe, I fear we may have been skipped, but hopefully the band will feature in Festival season.

Track List –

1. Heart Attack
2. Coast to Coast
3. ABC 123
4. Now as Then
5. Honesty
6. Colonizer
7. Look at Your Hands
8. Home
9. Hammer
10. Who Are You
11. Private Life
12. Free


Categories: Album Reviews, Header, Music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.