Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 17/06/22

Album of the Week – 17/06/22

What a week! It’s predicted to be the warmest of the year so far, the festivals are coming thick and fast and… we’re awash with new music!

Little Miss Ironic (don’t you think?) Alanis Morissette is back with a new album called “the storm before the calm”, and it’s just like rain on your wedding day!

Void Patrol are one you seriously have to checkout! They are a collection of interesting musicians, including Colin Stetson, Elliott Sharp, Billy Martin, and Payton MacDonald! There are also new albums from Foals (Life Is Yours), Hank Williams Jr. (Rich White Honky Blues) and Hercules & Love Affair (In Amber). There is a new release from Nick Cave, but it’s one for the purists! It “features spoken word pieces set to music by the dark maestro Nick Cave in collaboration with Warren Ellis”.

So instead, we’ve gone for another unusual one, this time from Perfume Genius, as Mike Hadreas “favours the experiments that always lurked on the outskirts of his songs”. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it! He’s taking a few risks, and it’s about time really…

Album of the Week – Perfume Genius – Ugly Season

The music of Ugly Season was written for Perfume Genius and choreographer Kate Wallich’s immersive dance piece, The Sun Still Burns Here. The work was commissioned by the Seattle Theatre Group and Mass MoCA and was performed via residencies in Seattle, Minneapolis, New York City and Boston throughout 2019. During this time, Perfume Genius shared two of the dance project’s compositions – ‘Pop Song’ and ‘Eye in the Wall’. “It’s the sound of dancefloor euphoria,” said Pitchfork. “The color of lights flashing as you move through a crowd, the touch of skin damp and warm against everyone else’s.” Now the entirety of the project’s original music can be heard in Ugly Season. The album was produced by Perfume Genius and GRAMMY-winning producer and long-time collaborator Blake Mills and was created in collaboration with Hadreas’ long-time partner Alan Wyffels.

Albums of Note:

— Alanis Morissette – the storm before the calm

— Nick Cave – Seven Psalms

— Foals – Life Is Yours

— Void Patrol (feat. Colin Stetson) – Void Patrol

— Hank Williams Jr. – Rich White Honky Blues

— Hercules & Love Affair – In Amber

Albums Released on 17/06/22

— Alanis Morissette – the storm before the calm

— Alice Merton – S.I.D.E.S.

— Anteloper – Pink Dolphins

— Bartees Strange – Farm to Table

— The Beach Boys – Sounds Of Summer: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys – Expanded Edition

— Best Breakfast – Clap If You Can

— Bob Marley & The Wailers – Live at the Rainbow: 3rd June 1977

— Calum Scott – Bridges

— Charlie Griffiths (of Haken) – Tiktaalika

— Chillin Villain Empire (C.V.E) – We Represent Billions

— CIVIL WAR – Invaders

— Collective Soul – Disciplined Breakdown (25th Anniversary Edition)

— D.R.U.G.S. – Destroy Rebuild

— Dan Reed Network – Let’s Hear It For The King

— David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars (Vinyl Reissue)

— Dire Straits – Money For Nothing (Reissue)

— Dylan Moon – Option Explore

— Σtella – Up and Away

— The Everly Brothers – Hey Doll Baby (Reissue)

— Fashion Club (Moaning’s Pascal Stevenson) – Scrutiny

— Fe Salomon – Living Rooms

— Flasher – Love Is Yours

— Foals – Life Is Yours

— Frank Zappa – Zappa/Erie

— GHUM – Bitter

— girlfriends – (e)motion sickness

— Graveyard Club – Moonflower

— Grey Daze (feat. Chester Bennington) – The Phoenix

— The Gun Club – The Las Vegas Story (Deluxe Edition)

— Gucci Mane and The New 1017 – So Icy Gang: The Reup

— Hank Williams Jr. – Rich White Honky Blues

— Harken – Honeymoon Suite

— Hazel English – Summer Nights EP

— Hercules & Love Affair – In Amber

— Horse Jumper of Love – Natural Part

— Iconic – Second Skin

— Infinity Knives & Brian Ennals – King Cobra

— IV And The Strange Band – Southern Circus

— Joey Bada$$ – 2000

— Kevin Gates – KHAZA

— Lionel Boy – Down at 8 EP

— Lit – Tastes Like Gold

— Logic – Vinyl Days

— Making Movies – XOPA

— ME REX – Plesiosaur EP

— Michael Giacchino – Lightyear (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

— Mt. Joy – Orange Blood

— Nova Twins – Supernova

— Nick Cave – Seven Psalms

— Oscar Stembridge – Thir13en EP

— ONI – Loathing Light

— Party Favor – RESET

— Patty Griffen – Tape

— Paul Leary (of Butthole Surfers) – The History of Dogs (Reissue)

— Perfume Genius – Ugly Season

— Pet Fox – A Face In Your Life

— Plato III – The Devil Has Texas

— Praises – In This Year: Hierophant

— Ray Charles – A Message From the People (Reissue)

— Ray Charles – Ray Charles Live In Stockholm 1972 (Reissue)

— Revelators Sound System (MC Taylor of Hiss Golden Messenger) – Revelators

— The Revivalists – Made In Muscle Shoals Vol. 2 EP

— RY X – Blood Moon

— The Smile (Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, and Tom Skinner) – A Light for Attracting Attention (Physical Release)

— Sound of Ceres – Emerald Sea

— Tim Bowness (of No-Man) – Butterfly Mind

— Tungsten – Bliss

— TV Priest – My Other People

— UB40 Featuring Ali Campbell & Astro – Unprecedented

— Various Artists – Summer of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Delixe Edition)


— Violet Skies – If I Saw You Again

— Void Patrol (feat. Colin Stetson) – Void Patrol

— WARM (Ron Trent) – What do the stars say to you

— Whitesnake – Greatest Hits

— Wy – Something Amazing EP

— Yaya Bey – Remember Your North Star

— ZORA – Z1

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.