Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 05-02-21

Album of the Week – 05-02-21

The dark clouds of January have finally disappeared. You can now expect the wild excitement of February! Woo!

This week, we see new albums from John Carpenter (Lost Themes III), Andrew Martin (of Mandolin Orange – Witching Hour) and Puma Blue (In Praise Of Shadows).

The Staves have just released a new album by the name of Good Woman, which deserves all the plaudits it will no doubt receive. They were very close to winning this huge award this week, but in the end, we went for a relatively new band who arrive with a moderate amount of hype! We’re going to add to it.

Update: A new album from David Kitt has dropped today! Reason to rejoice. You can listen to the enigmatically titled 20 Part 1 below.

They play Whelan’s in December. Do you remember gigs?

Album of the Week — Black Country, New Road – For the first time

Recorded with Andy Savours (My Bloody Valentine) during the early part of this year and then finished at the end of the nationwide lock-down, the album is the perfect capturing of a new band and all the energy, ferocity and explosive charge that comes with that whilst also clearly the work of a group who have no interest in repetition, one-note approaches or letting creative stagnation set in. Featuring six new songs including reinterpretations of early tracks “Sunglasses” and “Athens, France”, “For the first time” is a sonic time capsule that somehow manages to bottle the past, the present and the future.

“We wanted it to sound exactly how we love to sound live,” says saxophonist Lewis Evans. “This is basically representative of our first 18 months”, continues frontman Isaac Wood.

Indeed the band found they had to stop themselves running too far ahead in order to document this album in a way that felt as truthful as possible.

“We see this as being a stop in the road” explains Isaac. I’ve always been interested in a really honest portrayal of what a band is and what they’ve been working on. I think it’s really nice if people can see an artist like: this was them in the early days, this was their next phase and that they’re quite clear and honest about genuine progression as people and musicians.”

Album of Note: 

— Andrew Martin (of Mandolin Orange) – Witching Hour

— David Kitt –  20 Part 1

— John Carpenter – Lost Themes III

— The Staves – Good Woman

— Puma Blue – In Praise Of Shadows


February 5th:

— 3 dreAms neVer Dreamt – Another Vivid Detail

— 45 Adapters – Now Or Never EP

— A.J. Croce – By Request

— Aaron Lee Tasjan – Tasjan! Tasjan! Tasjan!

— Adam Gibbons – Here We Go! EP


— Aliceissleeping – Completely Fine

— Alice Petz – There’s No Way To Be Entirely Sure

— Alkerdeel – Slonk

— Andrew Martin (of Mandolin Orange) – Witching Hour

— Angelus Apatrida – Angelus Apatrida

— Apollo LTD – Nothing is Ordinary, Everything is Beautiful

— Archie Shepp and Jason Moran – Let My People Go

— Basilica – Basilica

— Black Country, New Road – For the first time

— The Black Queen – Fever Daydream (Reissue)

— Bob Marley – Songs of Freedom: The Island Years

— Boozewa – First Contact EP

— The Boys With The Perpetual Nervousness – Songs From Another Life

— Calvin Keys – Shawn-Neeq (Reissue)

— Cardioid – Crystal Lattice Lullabies EP

— Colossus – Degenesis

— Coma World – Coma World

— Cyrrca – Cyrrca

— Danny Kroha (of The Gories) – Detroit Blues

— Deacon Blue – Riding On The Tide Of Love

— Deception – The Mire

— The Deep West – California Flowers EP

— Det Jordiska – Grisarnas År

— Digital Eulogy – Cemetary Flowers EP

— Dusty Springfield – The Complete Atlantic Singles 1968-1971

— Dylan Dunlap – Soldier On EP

— Editrix – Tell Me I’m Bad

— Ezinma – Classical Bae EP

— Femi Kuti and Made Kuti – Legacy+

— Guy Blakeslee (of The Entrance Band) – Postcards From the Edge

— Foo Fighters – Medicine At Midnight

— Hounds – Cattle In The Sky

— Infinite X – Infinite X (Reissue)

— J Dilla – Welcome 2 Detroit – The 20th Anniversary Edition

— Jane Birkin – Oh! Pardon tu dormais…

— Jeremy Zucker and Chelsea Cutler – brent ii EP

— Jimi Somewhere – Nothing Gold Can Stay

— Joey Wang – Nite Creatures – Deluxe Edition

— John Carpenter – Lost Themes III

— John-Paul Jones Group

— Julietta – Levitate EP

— K Michelle Dubois – The Fever Returns

— Keegan Dewitt – Little Fish (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

— Komatsu – Rose Of Jericho

— Longstocking – Once Upon a Time Called Now (Reissue)

— Longstocking – Singles and Demos: 1994-1998

— Lutto Lento – Legendo

— Malacoda – Crawling Chaos EP

— Mariel Roberts – Armament

— Melting Mallows – Something Sweet

— Miguel Rios – Slaughterhouse Road

— Miss Grit – Imposter EP

— Nana Yamato – Before Sunrise

— Nancy Sinatra – Nancy Sinatra: Start Walkin’ 1965-1976

— Nick Schofield – Glass Gallery

— Nick Ward – Everything I Wish I Told You EP

— Nobody’s Girl – Nobody’s Girl

— Norma Tanega – Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog (Reissue)

— Nubiyan Twist – Freedom Tales

— Octo Octa – She’s Calling EP

— Odette – Herald

— Oh Ok – The Complete Reissue

— ORCumentary – Fully ORChestrated

— Parker Woodland – The World’s On Fire (And We Still Fall In Love) EP

— Peace Chord – Peace Chord

— Pharmakos – Destroy The System

— Pooh Shiesty – Shiesty Season

— Psychedelic Porn Crumpets – SHYGA! The Sunlight Mound

— Psychedelic Sangha – Sounds from the Bardo, Vol. II (Live from Judson Memorial Church)

— Puma Blue – In Praise Of Shadows

— Rack & Gridfailure – The Sun Exploded

— Record Thieves – Wasting Time (Vinyl Release)

— Rhea Butcher – Pull Yourself Up By Your Bootleg

— Ribbons – Total Loss EP

— Rick Margitza – Sacred Hearts

— Ricky Banda – Niwanji Walwa Amwishyo (Vinyl Reissue)

— Rod Abernethy – Normal Isn’t Normal Anymore

— Rough Dreams – From the Graves of Better Days EP

— Roy Montgomery – Island of Lost Souls

— Rudolph Johnson – Spring Rain (Reissue)

— Ryan Allen – What A Rip

— Sarah Mary Chadwick – Me and Ennui Are Friends, Baby

— Sarin – You Can’t Go Back

— Sea Sleeper – Nostophobia

— Sensible Antenna – Sensible Antenna

— Shovels & Rope – Busted Jukebox, Volume 3

— Smith & Burrows – Only Smith & Burrows Is Good Enough

— The Staves – Good Woman

— Sturle Dagsland – Sturle Dagsland

— Sun June – Somewhere

— Taylor Ashton – Romanticize EP

— Tele Novella – Merlynn Bell

— Todd La Torre (of Queensrÿche) – Rejoice in the Suffering

— Transatlantic – The Absolute Universe

— TV Priest – Uppers

— Uncle Walt’s Band – Recorded Live at Waterloo Ice House

— Various Artists – A Benefit For Equality Vol. 1

— Various Artists – Allen Ginsburg’s The Fall of America – A 50th Anniversary Musical Tribute (Digital Release)

— Various Artists – Saturday Night: South African Disco Pop Hits 1981-1987

— Walking Papers – The Light Below

— The Weather Station – Ignorance

— The Weeknd – The Highlights

— White Nights – Solanaceae

— Woobly (Jon Leidecker) – Popular Monitress

— Yumi Zouma – EP (Vinyl Reissue)

— Yumi Zouma – EP II (Vinyl Reissue)

— Yumi Zouma – EP III (Vinyl Reissue)

— Zadar – The Upstairs Room

— Zebadiah Crowe – Lych Milk

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.