Album Reviews

Swimming Tapes – Morningside – Album Review

Swimming Tapes – Morningside – Album Review by Killian Laher

Swimming Tapes originally hail from the north of Ireland, and their debut album is full of jangly guitars and sweetly sung melodies.  Opener Passing Ships features one of many gorgeous, clean guitar solos.  Songs like It Gets Old are almost blushingly sweet, while the vocal on Mirador is very evocative of the oft forgotten Kings of Convenience.  It’s all lazy, summery vibes, from the slow, deliberately picked guitars of Say It Isn’t So to the glistening, interweaving guitar lines of Keep Her Closer.  At times it can be almost too sweet, charming and all as it is.

No point in investigating this if jangly guitars aren’t your thing, and it could be argued that it’s nothing new.  But on the other hand it’s a fully formed debut that feels timeless.  Could be the sound of summer 2019 at the very least.

Track List:

1. Passing Ships
2. It Gets Old
3. See It Out
4. Mirador
5. Out Of Line
6. 10.05.17
7. Silhouette
8. Say It Isn’t So
9. Pyrenees
10. Keep Her Closer
11. In The New Year

Passing Ships

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.