Album Reviews

Gaelynn Lea – Deepest Darkness, Brightest Dawn – Album Review

Gaelynn Lea – Deepest Darkness, Brightest Dawn – Album Review by Killian Laher

Violin player Gaelynn Lea released this collection of Christmas-themed tracks just in time for last Christmas, and it has received a seasonal re-release.  Much of the album is instrumental, taking familiar tunes like Angels We Have Heard On High and Away In A Manger and using them as a basis for improvising on her instrument.  The mood conjured up is contemplative on stark, stripped down versions O Come, O Come Emmanuel.  Elsewhere on Angels From The Realms of Glory you can almost feel the fire crackling such is the cosy feel evoked.  Lea’s voice is used sparingly only appearing on a handful of tracks such as In The Bleak Midwinter and Silent Night.


Not one for the Christmas party circuit, it’s for those who like their glad tidings with a heavy dose of quiet comfort and joy.  It’s available here.

Track List –

1. Angels We Have Heard on High / The Friendly Beasts 03:42
2. Away in a Manger 04:02
3. O Come, O Come Emmanuel 03:58
4. In the Bleak Midwinter 03:35
5.The Holly and the Ivy / I Saw Three Ships 02:43
6. Angels from the Realms of Glory / Joy to the World 02:55
7. Silent Night 05:51
8. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / We Three Kings 03:31
9. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear 01:16
10. Hark the Herald Angels Sing / O Come All Ye Faithful 03:37
11. Sussex Carol 04:19
12. Love Came Down at Christmas / It’s In Every One of Us 04:17
13. The Carol of the Bells 02:27
14. Wexford Carol / O Christmas Carol


Categories: Album Reviews, Header, Music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.