Tiger Dublin Fringe Awards 2016 – Winners


So, it’s all over bar the shouting! Another year as slipped past, and you’d have to say it’s been a good one! Feel free to disagree with the judges in the comments section below. They are close enough in my book!

Best Production Award

Presented by TIGER DUBIN FRINGE to the show, production or event that has it all, displaying excellence in every area of production, design, performance, concept and execution. This award acknowledges the enormous work and talent that is poured into presenting work at the festival and honours the comprehensive production.


Hot Brown Honey presented by Briefs Factory
Nautilus by Trygve Wakenshaw
Bite Me by Joanne McNally
This Beach by Brokentalkers
Hope Hunt by Oona Doherty

Best Design Award

The award presented for outstanding lighting, sound, scenic, projection, costume or overall design.

WINNER: This Beach by Brokentalkers

For Overall Design, Costume and Scenic Design by Sabine Dargent, Lighting Design by Sarah Jane Shiels, Sound Design by Jack Cawley.

Glowworm  by Umbrella Theatre Project for Overall Design- Production Designer Hanna Bowe, Sound Design by Dylan Tonge Jones, Lighting Design by John Brennan, Art Department Sue Crawford, Seán Martin, Claudia Lemontea and Niamh Cooke, Corentin West and Gary Maguire.
Reassembled, Slightly Askew for Overall Design– Shannon Yee presented by the Complex, Creator Shannon Yee and Composer/Sonic Artist Paul Stapleton.
Hot Brown Honey for Overall Design – Original Concept: Lisa Fa’ alafi (Director | Production Design | Costume Design), Candy Bowers and Busty Beatz, Lighting Design by Paul Lim. Set by Tristan Shelly, Composer and Sound Designer Busty Beatz.
Start With A Circle for Overall Design by Jack Phelan, Sound Design/Composed by Dunk Murphy.
The Perfect Wagner Rite for Visual Design, design by Aoibheann Greenan.

Best Performers Award

Two of the festival’s best performers will take home this much sought-after accolade from a field of up to 10 nominees. [Formerly given to best male and female, Fringe has broadened this category to suit all gender indentification]


Trygve Wakenshaw – Nautilis
Oona Doherty –  Hope Hunt

Emmet Kirwan for RIOT
Margaret McAuliffe for The Humours of Bandon
Sarah Gordon  for A Sinkhole in Guatemala
Joanne McNally for Bite Me
Vickey Curtis for Finem Respice
Liz Peterson for Performance about a Woman
Ashleigh Dorrell for Animalia
Jinkx Monsoon, The Vaudevillians

Best Ensemble Award

Sometimes it’s the entire cast that makes a show. Introduced in 2014, this award recognises the ensemble as the standout – the key and driving action behind a project or show.


Rusangano Family


Half Light by Mollie Molumby
Hot Brown Honey presented by Briefs Factory
Hostel 16 by Fionnuala Gygax
The Definitive View with Sneachta Ní Mhurchú by The Brownbread Mixtape

Judges Choice Award

Instituted in 2014, this award recognises a project, contributor, experience of Fringe event that defies categorisation and is simply just too good to pass by unheralded.


Very Rich Hours by TableTop


Reassembled, Slightly Askew by Shannon Yee
George Bush and Children by Dick Walsh Theatre and Pan Pan
Gays Against the Free State by Oisin McKenna

Fishamble New Writing Award

Honouring the best play by a new or emerging Irish (or Ireland-based) playwright premiered during TIGER DUBLIN FRINGE, this award includes dramaturgical support as appropriate, for instance, a scholarship place on one of Fishamble’s acclaimed playwriting courses and / or support through the New Play Clinic for the playwright’s next play, generously supported by Fishamble: The New Play Company. The idea of new writing is interpreted broadly to include new works  in the area of dance, performance art, music, multi-author, post dramatic works and so on.


Animalia by Ian Toner


Tryst by Finbarr Doyle and Jeda de Brí (Sickle Moon Productions)
Coast by Tracy Martin (Red Bear Productions)
BlackCatfishMusketeer by Dylan Coburn Gray (Malaprop)

First Fortnight Award

Since its inception in 2009, First Fortnight’s key aim has been to challenge stigma and prejudice about mental health issues through the creative arts.


Half Light by Mollie Molumby


Reassembled, Slightly Askew by Shannon Yee
Dysmorphin’ Time by Davey Reilly
Coast by Red Bear Productions
Bite Me by Joanne McNally

Next Stage Wild Card Award

DUBLIN FRINGE awards a bursary to an artist who has been part of the festival, enabling them to participate in the Next Stage – an artist development programme run by Dublin Theatre Festival in partnership with Theatre Forum.


Hanna Bowe (Glowworm)

Bewley’s Cafe Theatre ‘Little Gem’ Award

Bewley’s Café Theatre is Ireland’s foremost presenter of lunchtime theatre and is delighted and proud to continue to sponsor the Bewley’s Café Theatre ‘Little Gem’ Award for the most exciting show presented at this year’s TIGER DUBLIN FRINGE under 60 minutes. The selection is made up by the jury for final approval by Bewley’s Café Theatre. The prize is a handsome one; the winning production is earns a two week run at Bewley’s Café Theatre with €2000 available to the company for remounting the production.

WINNER: The Humours of Bandon by Margaret McAuliffe


Glowworm – Umbrella Theatre Project
The Definitive View with Sneachta Ní Mhurchú by The Brownbread Mixtape
Mimes in Time by DREAMGUN
Animalia by Ian Toner

TIGER DUBLIN FRINGE 2016 Panel of Judges:

Julie Kelleher [Chairperson of the 2016 Tiger Dublin Fringe Judging panel – Artistic Director, The Everyman, Cork]; Caroline Flood [Member of Dublin Youth Theatre & Thornbud Theatre Co. / Student of English & Drama, TCD]; Conor O’Toole [Comedian]; David Tynan [Writer / Director]; Gavin McEntee [Director, Theatre-maker; Co-artistic Director & founding member of Conflicted Theatre & also member of BrokenCrow Theatre Co.]; Kate O’Sullivan [Communications & Development, Project Arts Centre]; Kerrie O’Brien [Award-winning writer and Literary Editor]; Kevin Coquelard [Dancer]; Lisa Walsh [Actor, Theatre-maker & Facilitator & Founding member of Talking Shop Ensemble; Louise White [Theatre & performance maker]; Mark Ball [Theatre-maker, Student & member of Dublin Youth Theatre]; Orlaith Ross [Events Manager]; Pato Cassinoni [Photographer & Visual Artist]; Philip Doherty [Writer & Director – Founder & Creative Director Town Hall Cavan Arts Space]; Robyn McQuaid-O’Dwyer [Performance & theatre-maker, writer and dramaturg].

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.