Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 24/03/23

Album of the Week – 24/03/23

Rejoice! Fans of good music, you’ve come to the right place for our round-up of all that rocks this week.

Rejoice! Fans of Depeche Mode, you’ve just got a new album that is a little bit unexpected. You can read our thoughts here.

Rejoice! Fans of Lana Del Rey, you have a new album to explore… it’s called ‘Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd’ and is getting some fairly rave reviews.

Rejoice, everyone else, as Lankum have just released another banger. Whether it’s as good as their last release, only time will tell but it’s undoubtedly quite lovely.

Album of the Week – Lankum – False Lankum

False Lankum follows their 2019 breakthrough album Livelong Day, which paved the way for critical and commercial success, earning them that year’s RTE Choice Music Prize (the Irish equivalent of the Album of the Year Grammy) and the #8 spot on NPR Music’s Best Albums of the Year list. Drawing on traditional folk songs, Lankum put their own dark, distinctive mark onto each, leaning into heavy drones and sonic distortion that imparts new intensity and beauty into each track. This record sees the band cement their breakout from the folk genre, creating bold, contemporary music that may be fashioned from traditional elements but is firmly new, sitting comfortably alongside Rough Trade labelmates like black midi and Gilla Band. False Lankum also features two original tracks, ‘Netta Perseus’ and ‘The Turn’, both penned by the group’s Daragh Lynch.

Albums of Note:

— Depeche Mode – Memento Mori

— Kool Keith & Read Bad Man – Serpent

— Lana Del Rey – Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd

Albums Released – March 24th:

— 03 Greedo – Halfway There

— 6LACK – Since I Have a Lover

— Acid King – Beyond Vision

— Alé Araya – In Visions

— Aoife O’Donovan – Aoife O’Donovan Plays Nebraska

— Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, and Shahzad Ismaily – Love In Exile

— August Burns Red – Death Below


— Ben Sloan – muted colors

— Billy Raffoul – I Wish You Were Here EP

— Black Country, New Road – Live at Bush Hall (Digital Release)

— Borzoi – Neither One Nor The Other, But A Mockery Of Both

— Bouncing Souls – Ten Stories High

— Caroline Rose – The Art of Forgetting

— The Cinematic Orchestra – Every Day (20th Anniversary Edition)

— Darren Jessee – Central Bridge

— Debby Friday – Good Luck

— Depeche Mode – Memento Mori

— Dick Stusso – S.P.

— Elton John – Honky Château 50th Anniversary Edition

— ESP Summer – Mars Is A Ten (Reissue)

— Exploring Birdsong – Dancing in the Face of Danger EP

— Fall Out Boy – So Much (For) Stardust

— Grand Royale – Welcome to Grime Town

— Heartworms – A Comforting Notion EP

— Helen Ganya – repolish the machine EP


— Ihsahn – Fascination Street Sessions EP

— Isabel LaRosa – You Fear The God That Loves You EP

— Jae Skeese – Abolished Uncertanties

— JakoJako – Verve EP

— Jeff Goldblum and The Mildred Snitzer Orchestra – Plays Well With Others EP

— Jenny Conlee (of The Decemberists) – Tides: Pieces for Accordion and Piano

— Jimin (of BTS) – FACE

— JPEGMAFIA and Danny Brown – Scaring the Hoes

— Kate Davis – Fish Bowl

— Kid Moxie & Nina – Lust EP

— The Kinks – The Journey – Part 1

— Kofi – Just to Piss You Off EP

— Kool Keith & Read Bad Man – Serpent

— Lana Del Rey – Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd

— Lankum – False Lankum

— Liturgy – 93696

— Lucinda Chua – YIAN

— Luke Combs – Gettin’ Old

— Major League Djz and Major Lazer – Piano Republik

— Marinas Rest – Auer

— Matt Corby – Everything’s Fine

— Meg Myers – TZIA

— Mereki – Death of a Cloud

— Milku – You Make Me Feel Beautiful EP

— Morass of Molasses – End All We Know

— N NAO – L’eau et les rêves

— Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazlewood – Nancy & Lee Again (Reissue)

— The Natural Lines – The Natural Lines

— Nickel Creek – Celebrants

— Noble Rot (Alex Edkins of METZ and Graham Walsh of Holy Fuck) – Heavenly Bodies, Repetition, Control

— No Cosmos – you iii everything else

— OTTTO (feat. Tye Trujillo) – Life Is a Game

— Pink Floyd – The Dark Side of the Moon (50th Anniversary Box Set)

— Pitou – Big Tear

— The Police – Greatest Hits (Vinyl Reissue)

— Purling Hiss – Drag on Girard

— Quando Rondo – Recovery

— The Reds, Pinks & Purples – The Town That Cursed Your Name

— Rucci & Bankroll – Notorious

— Semaphore – I Need a Reason to Stay

— Sharon Van Etten – Tramp (Anniversary Edition)

— Shores of Null – The Loss of Beauty

— The Slackers – The Question (Vinyl Reissue)

— Softcult – see you in the dark EP

— The Velvet Underground – Loaded (Fully Re-Loaded Edition)

— Whitney Houston – I Go to the Rock: The Gospel Music of Whitney Houston

— Wilder Woods – FEVER / SKY

— Yaya Bey – Exodus the North Star EP

— YoshimiO (OOIOO / Boredoms) – To The Forest To Live A Truer Life

— Yours Are the Only Ears – We Know the Sky

— Zack Rosen – SYZYGY

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.