Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 20/01/23

Album of the Week – 20/01/23

Despite it being mid-January and just after Blue Monday, this is actually quite a good week for new releases!

We have new albums from the likes of Mac DeMarco (Five Easy Hot Dogs), Guided By Voices (La La Land) and Norwegian songstress Siv Jakobsen (Gardening). Dave Rowntree of Blur has also released something without his more famous friends, called Radio Songs.

In the end, we went for one of our favourite Irish bands, The Murder Capital. Their second album is a beaut and more than deserving of this award…

Albums of the Week — The Murder Capital – Gigi’s Recovery

“An album that suits the time of year. Yes, it is relentlessly downbeat but the smart, intelligent music contained within shows there’s life in the post-punk beast yet!” – From our review by Killian Laher.

Albums of Note:

— Mac DeMarco – Five Easy Hot Dogs

— Guided By Voices – La La Land

— Siv Jakobsen – Gardening

— Dave Rowntree (of Blur) – Radio Songs

January 20th:

— abracadabra – shapes & colors

— Bad Brains – The Youth Are Getting Restless (Reissue)

— The Bad Ends – The Power and the Glory

— Beauty Pill – Blue Period

— Biig Piig – Bubblegum

— Brainiac – Predator Nominate EP

— The C.I.A. (Denée & Ty Segall, Emmett Kelly) – Surgery Channel

— Celestial Wizard – Winds of the Cosmos

— Cloud Nothings – Attack on Memory (10th Anniversary Edition)

— Dave Rowntree (of Blur) – Radio Songs

— DJ Hanzel – anti everything

— Ella Fitzgerald – Live At Montreux 1969

— Falling Forward – Let These Days Pass: The Complete Anthology 1991-1995

— flora – our generation (Another Time)

— Fran – Leaving

— Gemma Ray – Gemma Ray & The Death Bell Gang

— Glyders – Maria’s Hunt

— Guided By Voices – La La Land

— Half Life – Like a Jungle

— Imperium Dekadenz – Into Sorrow Evermore

— J.T. IV – The Future

— Jadu Heart – Derealised

— John Cale – MERCY

— John Carpenter, Cody Carpenter, and Daniel Davies – Halloween Ends (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (Physical Release)

— J.T. IV – The Future

— Kali Malone – Does Spring Hide Its Joy

— Katatonia – Sky Void of Stars

— Ladytron – City of Angels

— Lukas Graham – 4 (The Pink Album)

— Mac DeMarco – Five Easy Hot Dogs

— Måneskin – Rush!

— The MOSS – Insomnia EP

— The Murder Capital – Gigi’s Recovery

— New Found Glory – Make the Most of It

— Oddisee – To What End

— Seether – Disclaimer (Deluxe Edition)

— Shamir – Hope (Vinyl Reissue)

— Siv Jakobsen – Gardening

— Spice World – There’s No “I” in Spice World

— Trippie Redd – Mansion Musik

— We Are Scientists – Lobes

— Wilco – Cruel Country (Physical Release)

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.