Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 26/08/22

Album of the Week – 26/08/22

It’s a slow week but there is one very exciting release, and yes, that’s Ms Jacklin! Her new album PRE PLEASURE is just as good as what went before, and her 2019 album Crushing was earth-shatteringly good!

The best of the rest includes Bastille (Give Me The Future + Dreams Of The Past), Ezra Furman (All of Us Flames) and William Orbit (The Painter). One another week, Ezra would be claiming the top prize, but as with so much else in life, it’s all about timing!

Album of the Week – Julia Jacklin – PRE PLEASURE

WORLD TOUR ANNOUNCED – 3rdNovember-Vicar Street, Dublin

“A lot of the time I feel like I need to do all the work before I can enjoy my life,” says Julia Jacklin of her third album, PRE PLEASURE. “Whether that’s work on songs or sex, friendships, or my relationship with my family –I think if I work on them long and hard enough, eventually I’ll get to sit around and really enjoy them. But that’s not how anything works is it. It’s all an ongoing process.”

The binary of casual crisis is a powerful force in Julia Jacklin’s music. Since releasing her debut album Don’t Let the Kids Winin 2016, the Melbourne-via-Blue Mountains singer/songwriter has carved out a fearsome reputation as a direct lyricist, willing to excavate the parameters of intimacy and agency in songs both stark and raw, loose, and playful. If her folky 2016 debut Don’t Let the Kids Win announced those intentions, and the startling 2018 follow-up Crushing drew in listeners uncomfortably close, PRE PLEASURE is the sound of Jacklin gently loosening her grip. Conceived upon returning home at the end of a mammoth Crushing world tour, and finished in a frantic few months of recording in Montreal (“The songs on this record took either three years to write or three minutes”), PRE PLEASURE sees Jacklin expanding beyond her signature sound, while conjuring the ripples and faultlines caused by unreliable communication.

Albums of Note:

— Bastille – Give Me The Future + Dreams Of The Past

— Ezra Furman – All of Us Flames

— William Orbit – The Painter

August 26th:

— Agression – Don’t Be Mistaken (Reissue)

— Alexander Ludwig – Highway 99

— Antonio Sánchez – SHIFT (Bad Hombre Vol. II)

— Apeiron Bound – Multiplicity

— Bandaid Brigade – Sex Is Terrifying

— Bastille – Give Me The Future + Dreams Of The Past

— Bibi Club – Le soleil et la mer

— Bill Nelson’s Red Noise – Art/Empire/Industry – The Complete Red Noise

— blackbear – in loving memory

— Blondie – Against The Odds 1974-1982

— Braxe + Falcon – Step By Step EP (Vinyl Release)

— Brotherkenzie – NATHAN

— Butch Walker – Butch Walker As… Glenn

— Calypso Rose – FOREVER

— Charles Lloyd – Trios: Ocean

— Cryalot (Sarah Bonito of Kero Kero Bonito) – Icarus EP

— Daedelus – Simmers Over

— Diamanda Galás – Broken Gargoyles

— Dirty Heads – Midnight Control

— DJ Khaled – God Did

— Duckwrth – Chrome Bull EP

— Duncan Sheik – Claptrap

— Dynazty – Final Advent

— Elissa Mielke – Mouse EP

— Ezra Furman – All of Us Flames

— Eyedress – FULL TIME LOVER

— Fransisco Martin – Manic EP

— The Happy Fits – Under The Shade Of Green

— FUR – Oldies & Goldies EP

— The Hirsch Effekt – Solitaer EP

— Ingrid Andress – Good Person

— JID – The Forever Story

— Jim Lauderdale – Game Changer

— Julia Jacklin – PRE PLEASURE

— Kaitlyn Smith – Let’s Turn It Into Sound

— Kameron Marlowe – We Were Cowboys

— Kramer – Music for Films Edited by Moths

— Laufey – Everything I Know About Love

— Lauren Balthrop – Things Will Be Different

— Lonely Robot – A Model Life

— Machine Head – Of Kingdom and Crown

— Marcus King – Young Blood

— MARO – can you see me?

— Meechy Darko (of Flatbush Zombies) – Gothic Luxury

— MUSE – Will of the People

— Paisley Fields – Limp Wrist

— Pantha du Prince – Garden Gala

— Pianos Become The Teeth – Drift

— Rachika Nayar – Heaven Come Crashing

— Recitals – Orbit I

— Regina Spektor – 11:11 (Deluxe Edition)

— Sleep – Dopesmoker (Deluxe Vinyl Edition)

— Spirit Adrift – 20 Centuries Gone

— Stella Donnelly – Flood

— Surfaces – Hidden Youth

— Syd Warwick – Sad Astra EP

— Tedeschi Trucks Band – I Am The Moon: IV. Farewell

— Teen Suicide – honeybee table at the butterfly feast

— Thee Sacred Souls – Thee Sacred Souls

— They Kiss – Feeling With You

— Thoughtcrimes (feat. Dillinger Escape Plan’s Billy Rymer) – Altered Pasts

— Tommy McLain – I Ran Down Every Dream

— Valerie June – Under Cover EP

— Vince Guaraldi – It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (Original Soundtrack Recording)

— William Orbit – The Painter

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.