Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 19/08/22

Album of the Week – 19/08/22

There is a lot of hype around Aitch and his new release Close To Home, so see what you make of it. He’s certainly made some friends after an ad for his new album was painted over an Ian Curtis mural in Manchester.

This week sees new releases from Hot Chip (Freakout/Release), Loudon Wainwright III (Lifetime Achievement), The Mountain Goats (Bleed Out) and Röyksopp (Profound Mysteries II). There are some sounds of the summer from Why Bonnie (90 In November)  which deserve a listen also. There’s also a new EP from Gordi called Inhuman which will have your feet tapping.

For our album of the week, we went for young Mr McCombs and his new album Heartmind.

Album of the Week – Cass McCombs – Heartmind

Maybe a minute passed before I knew I’d be singing “Karaoke” for the rest of my life. The second song on Heartmind, the tenth album by Cass McCombs, “Karaoke” is a god-level burst of power-pop perfection, as fetching as anything Cass has ever cut. The springy staccato guitar, the vaporized electric keys, the melody seemingly born for singing or clapping or dancing along: Cass triangulates a perch of his very own out among The Go-Betweens, The dB’s, and The Cure, and vibrates there, a beacon. And then, of course, there is the song’s playful if painful lyrical conceit—the lover who is making all the sacred motions of commitment but whose feelings may be no more deep or real than someone simply reading the lyrics for “Vision of Love” or “Stand by Your Man” from some crowded bar’s TV screen. – From here.

Albums of Note:

— Aitch – Close To Home


— DIIV – Oshin (10th Anniversary Edition) (Physical Release)

— Hot Chip – Freakout/Release

— Loudon Wainwright III – Lifetime Achievement

— The Mountain Goats – Bleed Out

— Panic! At The Disco – Viva Las Vengeance

— R.E.M. – Chronic Town EP (Reissue)

— Röyksopp – Profound Mysteries II

— Why Bonnie – 90 In November

— Gordi –  Inhuman

August 19th:

— Aitch – Close To Home

— All Souls & Fatso Jetson – Live From Total Annihilation

— Andrew Combs – Sundays

— Aubrey Haddard – Awake And Talking

— B.B. Palmer – Krishna Country Gold EP

— The Berries – High Flying Man

— Cass McCombs – Heartmind

— Charlie Burg – Infinitely Tall

— Cinema Hearts – Your Ideal EP

— CLAMM – Care

— CONAN – Evidence of Immortality

— Demi Lovato – HOLY FVCK

— DevilDriver – Clouds Over California – The Studio Albums: 2003 – 2011

— DIIV – Oshin (10th Anniversary Edition) (Physical Release)

— Duet Emmo – Or So It Seems (Reissue)

— Eli Winter – Eli Winter

— The Feelings Parade – Let It Move You

— Five Finger Death Punch – AFTERLFE

— flipturn – Shadowglow

— Hammer King – Kingdemonium

— Hayden Thorpe (of Wild Beasts) – Moondust For My Diamond – Every Piece of Dust Edition

— Hot Chip – Freakout/Release

— I Prevail – True Power

— Internet Money – We All We Got EP

— Johnny Orlando – all the things that could go wrong

— Julia Madrid – Julia Madrid EP

— The Last Artful, Dodgr – Hits of Today

— Lauran Hibberd – Garbageband Superstar

— Loudon Wainwright III – Lifetime Achievement

— Madonna – Finally Enough Love (Physical Release)

— Madonna – Finally Enough Love: 50 Number Ones

— Mammoth Volume – The Cursed Who Perform The Larvagod Rites

— Marketa Irglova – LILA

— Maya Lucia – miss girl world EP

— The Mountain Goats – Bleed Out

— Muna Ileiwat – Twenty-Seven EP

— Neil Young – Eldorado EP (Reissue)

— NO WIN – Dodger Stadium

— Oasis – Be Here Now (25th Anniversary)

— OMB Peezy – MisGuided

— Oneida – Success

— Panic! At The Disco – Viva Las Vengeance

— Pelican – Australasia (Reissue)

— Phoebe Green – Lucky Me

— R.E.M. – Chronic Town EP (Reissue)

— Rare Americans – You’re Not A Bad Person, It’s Just A Bad World

— Röyksopp – Profound Mysteries II

— Russian Circles – Gnosis

— SEB – IT’S OKAY, WE’RE DREAMING II: don’t worry, i’ll be fine EP

— Silversun Pickups – Physical Thrills

— Soft Pink Truth – Was It Ever Real? EP

— Song Sparrow Research – Don’t Look Now

— Spielbergs – Vestli

— SRSQ – Ever Crashing

— Tall Dwarfs – Unravelled: 1981–2002

— Tank – R&B Money

— Terence Etc. – V O R T E X

— THICK – Happy Now

— TINK – Pillow Talk

— Watkins Family Hour – Vol. II

— Why Bonnie – 90 In November

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Movie Review, Movies

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.