Album of the Week

Album of the Week – 13-12-19 – Annie Hart – A Softer Offering

Album of the Week – 13-12-19

Another slow week in December, but this one is quite lovely!

Album fo the Week – Annie Hart – A Softer Offering

“A Softer Offering, Annie Hart’s latest solo record, is an elegant and gentle selection of songs that make magic from sparse and powerful ingredients. Noted for her film composition work and being a third of indie synthesizer pioneers, Au Revoir Simone, Annie again takes the reins on her own to create a spare, sophisticated album, celebrating the quiet moments in life that listeners will come back to time and again.
The songs create a world of effortless beauty that evokes being outdoors in warm rain or that particular nostalgia that comes from staring out a train window on an overcast day. The ingredients are nothing new for Hart: she deftly combines her powerfully emotive voice with electric piano and synthesizer and drum samples, but on this record, she spaces out the loveliness of the songs and sounds to guide the listener into a meditative soundscape. Her voice moves from intimate and hushed to a plaintive cry, at times intentionally disturbing, but always expertly balanced by gorgeous keyboard and guitar.”

Albums Worth Exploring –

Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) – Uncut Gems (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Stormzy – Heavy is the Head

December 13th:

— 1$T – Tokyo Project

— American Football – Year One Demos

— Annie Hart (of Au Revoir Simone) – A Softer Offering

— Arkona – Age of Capricorn

— Ashland – Over the Moon

— Azizi Gibson – Chimera Act

— BT – Everything You’re Searching For is on the Other Side of Fear

— Cellmod – The Dissident

— Cemented Minds – Colostrum EP

— City Morgue – Vol. 2: As Good As Dead

— Coven – Half a Century of Witchcraft

— Daniel Knox – I Had A Wonderful Time

— Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) – Uncut Gems (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

— Dirty Rats – End in Tears

— Duster – Duster

— Eddy Current Suppression Ring – All in Good Time

— Emerson Hart – 32 Thousand Days

— Fever Ray – Plunge Remixfe

— Focused – At Eternity’s Gate

— The Free Nationals – The Free Nationals

— Harry Styles – Fine Line

— Inayah – S.O.L.A.R. (Storytelling Over Lyrics and Rhymes)

— Jamey Jasta (of Hatebreed) – The Lost Chapters – Volume 2

— Jamhed – Gelee Royal

— Kate Simko – We Believe in Dinosaurs – Original Score

— Kaytranada – Bubba

— Kenny Rogers – The Gambler’s Last Deal

— Kevo Muney – Baby G.O.A.T.

— Mark Ronson – Spies in Disguise (Original Soundtrack)

— Mo3 – Osama

— Mono and A.A. Williams – Exit in Darkness EP (Digital Release)

— Pink Floyd – Pink Floyd: The Later Years

— Robert Plant – Digging Deep

— Sangre – Mas Fuerte Que La Muerte

— Satyricon – Rebel Extravaganza (20th Anniversary Edition)

— Skullcrush – Archaic Towers of Annihilation

— Solace – The Brink

— St. Vincent – Nina Kraviz presents MASSEDUCTION Rewired

Stormzy – Heavy is the Head

— Tool – Fear Inoculum (Expanded Book Edition)

— Various Artists – Hannukah+ (Physical Release)

— Various Artists – Lodge 49 – Official Soundtrack

— Vianni – Homerun EP

— VOLTUMNA – Ciclope

— Warren Haynes – Warren Haynes Presents The Benefit Concert Vol. 16

Categories: Album of the Week, Header, Music

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.