Album Reviews

Spiral Stairs – Doris and the Daggers – Album Review

Spiral Stairs – Doris and the Daggers – Album Review by Killian Laher

Former Pavement member Scott Kanneberg returns with his third solo album. Opener Dance (Cry Wolf) sets the tone, it’s kind of crooner alt-pop, reminiscent of Edwyn Collins, Richard Hawley, or even Iggy Pop at his most tame. Dundee Man is one of the stronger cuts, with ringing guitar driving the song. Trams (Stole My Love) features prominent brass and a sound you could envisage on daytime radio, except that’s a little unlikely these days, and Angel Eyes is a bit like cleaned up Lemonheads. Many of the songs sound quite similar, and don’t leave much impression. There’s nothing terrible here but nor are there any major standouts. Even a guest appearance by Matt Berninger (the National) on Exiled Tonight doesn’t provides a spark.

It’s pop on the more intelligent side of the spectrum but it doesn’t really resonate, and ultimately struggles to hold your attention.

Track List

1. Dance (Cry Wolf)
2. Emoshuns
3. Dundee Man
4. AWM
5. No Comparison
6. The Unconditional
7. Trams (Stole My Love)
8. Exiled Tonight
9. Angel Eyes
10. Doris and the Daggers

Dance (Cry Wolf):



Categories: Album Reviews, Header, Music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.