Festivals

Good Gig Guide – May 2016

tumblr_loz76wl6pH1qa1ywro1_500

With Godspeed!, Grandaddy, Mudhoney, John Carpenter, Agnes Obel, Teenage Fanclub, Julia Holter, Richmond Fontaine and more added to the list… it’s an exciting long term forecast for the Gigs of Dublin. See what you can find below and let us know if we’ve missed anything of note…

May

Cormac Begley & Caoimhin O Raghallaigh – NCH – Thu 19-05-2016 19:30
Lisa O’Neill – Whelans –  Fri 20/05/16
Quantic Live – The Sugar Club – Sat 21/05/16
The Last Shadow Puppets – Olympia Theatre – Wed – Fri 25th – 27th /05/16
Hans Zimmer – 3Arena –  Thu 26/05/16
Dan Trueman & Caoimhin O Raghallaigh – NCH – Thu 26-05-2016 19:30
Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band – Cork Park – Fri 27/05/16
Robert Forster – Whelans – Sat 28/05/16
Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band – Cork Park – Sun 29/05/16
The Dandy Warhols – The Academy – Sat 28/05/16
Marissa Nadler – The Button Factory – Sat 28/05/16
Perspectives: Max Richter Ensemble – NCH – Sunday 29th May

De-La-Soul-GI-from-FB

June

The Tree of Life – NCH – 03-06-2016
Candi Staton – Young Hearts Run Free – Sugar Club – Tue 07/06/16
Candi Staton – Young Hearts Run Free – Sugar Club – Tue 08/06/16
Mudhoney + Bob Log III – Whelans – Wed 08/06/16
Bryan Ferry – Olympia Theatre – Wed-Fri 08 – 10/06/16
Something Happens – Whelans – Sat 11/06/16
Sarah Millican – Olympia Theatre – Sat-Sun 11-12/06/16
Slayer & Anthrax – Olympia Theatre – Tue 14/06/16
Per Oddvar Johansen & Caoimhin O Raghallaigh – NCH – 15-06-2016
De La Soul – Olympia Theatre – 16/06/16
The Brian Jonestown Massacre – The Academy – Thu 16/06/16

Body and Soul – 17th – 19th June  – The Gloaming , Santigold, St Germain, Hudson Mohawke, Floating Points (live), Mercury Rev, Neon Indian, BadBadNotGood, Wolf Parade, Sun Kil Moon

Sea Sessions – 24th – 26th June – Bundoran in Donegal – Primal Scream, Tinie Tempah, Ham Sandwich, Bad Manners, Pleasure Beach, Raglans…

Starboard Home – NCH – 22-06-2016 – Featuring Paul Noonan (Bell X1), Paul Cleary (The Blades),  Jape, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Lisa O’Neill
Starboard Home – NCH – 23-06-2016
Sigur Ros – Royal Hospital, Kilmainham – Sun 26/06/16
CW Stoneking – Whelans – Sun 26/06/16
Disclosure – Royal Hospital, Kilmainham – Tues 28/06/16
Saul Williams – The Sugar Club –  Thurs 30/06/16

July

Groove – Sat 2nd & Sun 3rd July – Killruddery House, Bray, Co Wicklow – The Academic,  The 4 of Us, Ocean Colour Scene, The Blades, Aslan and Jupe…

Longitude – Fri 15th – Sun 17th July – Kendrick Lamar, Major Lazer, The National, Róisín Murphy, Father John Misty, Jamie xx, Tyler the Creator, Action Bronson, Courtney Barnett, CHVRCHES, Mo, ASAP Ferg and more! ‪

Live at Iveagh Gardens
Jul 8 Fri – Bell X1
Jul 9 Sat – John Grant
Jul 10 Sun Wilco
Jul 14 Thu – Pixies
Jul 16 Sat – Elvis Costello & the Imposters
Jul 22 Fri – Richard Hawley
Jul 23 Sat – Little Green Cars

Faithless, Le Galaxie – Royal Hospital, Kilmainham – Sat 2/07/16
Jerry Fish – Sugar Club – Sat 2/07/16
God Is an Astronaut – Whelans – Sat 2/07/16
Funeral Suits – Whelans – Fri 8/07/16
Stone Roses – Marlay Park – Sat 9/07/16
IMMA Summer Party – Royal Hospital Kilmainham – Sat 16/07/16
Rufus Wainwright: Solo – NCH – 20-07-2016
Belly – The Academy –  Sat 23/07/16

lloydcole

August

Albert Hammond In Concert – NCH – 03-09-2016
Lloyd Cole – Solo Songbook 1983-1996 – Vicar Street-  Fri 26/08/16
Yorkston Thorne Khan – The Workmans Club – Sun 07/08/16
White Denim – Whelans – Tue 16/08/16
Grandaddy – Vicar Street – Thur 18/08/16
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Vicar Street – Sun 21/08/16
Lloyd Cole – Solo Songbook 1983-1996 – Vicar Street – Fri 26/08/16
Sam Beam (Of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop – Olympia Theatre – Tue 30/08/16

September

Electric Picnic – Fri 2nd – Sun 4th Sept – LCD Soundsystem, Lana Del Rey, New Order, HAIM, Super Furry Animals, Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats, Wolf Alice, Animal Collective, Wild Beasts, Broken Social Scene, Phosphorescent, Ezra Furman, Girls Names – Sold Out
Glen Hansard (Solo) – Vicar Street – Mon 5/09/16
D.A.R.K – Featuring Dolores O’Riordan – Whelans – Mon 19/09/16

16_10_09-StarsOfTheLid

October

Perspectives: Stars of the Lid – NCH – Sun 9/10/16
Booka Brass Band – Vicar Street – Fri 14/10/16
Michael Kiwanuka – The Academy – Sat 15/10/16
Richmond Fontaine – Whelans – Sat 15/10/16
Sleaford Mods – Vicar Street – Thur 20/10/16
John Carpenter – Live Retrospective – Vicar Street – Tue 25/10/16

November

Jake Bugg – Olympia – Sat 5/11/16
Loudon Wainwright III – Vicar Street – Sun 6/11/16
Michael Nyman – Olympia – Thu 17/11/16
Electric Six – The Academy –  Sat 26/11/16
Julia Holter – Vicar Street — Sat 19/11/16

obel_Press_photo__0_476959a-001

December

Agnes Obel – Vicar Street – Thu 1/12/16
Teenage Fanclub – Academy – Friday 2/12/16
The Strypes – Olympia – Thu 08/12/16
Overhead, the Albatross – Vicar Street – Fri 9/12/16
Black Grape – Vicar Street – Fri 23/12/16

Categories: Festivals, Gigs, Header, Music

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.