Album Reviews

Warpaint – Warpaint – Album Review


This album quietly took me by surprise. I’d heard the single that was bouncing around the airwaves, but was expecting the album to be patchy at best, but there’s consistency and quality to their new album and also a sound that is quite different through those around them. They are quietly doing their own thing and waiting for the world to sit up and take notice, and that should happen with this album. This is the band’s second album, after the 2010 release ‘The Fool’ and while the first album was well received, it never quite sent them to indie stardom. The possible difference with this album is the inclusion of a hit single in the form of ‘Love is to die’, a radio friendly track that will find a home on all the indie stations.

The three piece from Los Angeles consist of three members; guitarist/vocalists Theresa Wayman and Emily Kokal, bassist Jenny Lee Lindberg and drummer Stella Mozgawa. This ‘girl group’ create textured, delicate worlds all set over Wayman’s lush and sumptuous vocals. One of the nicest things about the album is the production by Flood, which makes it feel like an album proper, there’s a flow and familiarity about all the tracks that develops over the course of the album and allows you to get lost in it. The album has a very definite sound, and while each of the tracks develops in their own right, it’s very definitely from a body of work. 12 tracks that deserve to be listened to together, and given time to grow on you.

Warpaint by Warpaint was released on January 20th 2014 by Rough Trade.

You can hear the album in full here.

No. Title Length

1. “Intro” 1:51

2. “Keep It Healthy” 4:02

3. “Love Is to Die” 4:52

4. “Hi” 5:11

5. “Biggy” 5:55

6. “Teese” 4:42

7. “Disco//Very” 4:04

8. “Go In” 4:00

9. “Feeling Alright” 3:33

10. “CC” 3:48

11. “Drive” 5:12

12. “Son” 4:07

Total length: 51:16

Update: Chris Cunningham (of Aphex Twin video fame) is married to the bassist Jenny Lee Lindberg, and spent two years touring with the band filming, the results are to be released shortly, with the first preview below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.